Why I should listen to my best friend, and why I won’t.

So the other night I was having a not too nice allergic reaction to something in the air around my house.  It was bad enough that I decided to take some allergy medication.  I was also messaging with my best friend at the time.  I mentioned that I was having a reaction and had taken some Benadryl.  She laughed and mentioned that soon I’d be drooling and fall over asleep.  I didn’t believe her.  I’ve taken Benadryl before, heck I take it all the time in the summer for mosquito bites.

A bit of an aside. It wasn’t until this past summer that I found out that it’s not at all normal for a mosquito bite to still be swollen and itchy a week later.  It turns out I’m allergic to mosquito bites. Lovely.  Add to that the fact that for some insane reason I am extremely appealing to mosquitoes.  It’s like they are all tiny addicts and I am mosquito crack.  Even after nearly bathing in Off I still will get a dozen bites taking Eslyn to school.  So now when I get massively bit I take a Benedryl.  It’s  heaven in tiny pill form.  But apparently I never noticed the drowsy side effects since I was running around after kids and hopped up on caffeine.

So Kristen and I continued on having one of our weird conversations that started out with how we wished we liked wine because a glass of wine would be a nice way to relax and ended up with the certainty that Laughing Cow cheese comes from cows who had wandered into pot fields.  What can I say, it really was a natural flow at the time.

At this point I was starting to get a bit drowsy and my typing was coming across a little drunk.  When I couldn’t remember talking about cheese and cows just a few minutes beforehand I acknowledged that perhaps Kristen was right and the Benadryl was making me a bit drooly and sleepy.  I really should have listened to her at the beginning.

In my defense though she has given my naive self some pretty hilarious bad advice in the past.  I’m kind of a gullible person and a few, okay well 10ish, years ago we were having a nice girls night.  We were watching ER and survivor and pigging out on junk food.  We were eating pop rocks and when my best friend in the world, whom I would trust with my life, said “You should try taking a big mouthful of pop rock then take a bit swig of cola.  It’s really cool, the pop a ton that way” I believed her.  DO NOT EVER TRY THIS.  Oh, I will give her that she’s right, it does make them pop more then normal.  It makes them pop so much that you start to choke and run to the kitchen and they end up coming out your nose, which is almost as painful as the time you had your nose cauterized.  And then they pop in the sink for the next hour or two.  It was a very unpleasant experience.  One that knocked a lot of the gullibility out of me.  It also taught me to be very wary of any advice that my best friend gives while she giggles.  Which can be a lot of it if you’re not careful.

But she was right about the Benadryl.

Leave a Reply

