This year I’m smacking parents, not children.

Okay, so I don’t actually go around smacking other peoples children.  But some days the urge is there.  Take Saturday for example.  Hubby and I took his Mom and Eslyn to see ‘Titanic, The Artifacts Exhibit’ at the science center.  It is a wonderful exhibit, it left me amazed and saddened. The exhibit is full of priceless, irreplaceable item retrieved from the titanic.

The last thing I expected to was to be nearly knocked over by a couple of kids running back and forth in the exhibit, smacking into to people and shouting.  They smashed into me, my kid and my mother in law.  Now they weren’t teeny tiny kids either; we’re talking in the 8-12 age group, old enough to know better.  The Mom just looked over then looked back at one of the display cases.

Now here’s the thing.  I know that there are many children who have behavioral issues that have a medical or neurological cause, so I’m usually pretty forgiving.  But there are times when you can pretty much tell that the problem is no parental control.  Like when the parent sees the kids acting up and DOES NOTHING.  Like the Dad who thought it was just fine to stand beside me and let his kid shove mine off the floor piano in the kids area of the science center.  Or the mom in the exhibit.

So after having to explain to my daughter that yes some kids are rude, but it’s usually because their parents don’t teach them manners (yep said it right beside the guy who gave me the stink eye, I would have said more but I was in a room full of children and I am trying to teach my daughter that not everything has to be a confrontation, and I really don’t think it’s appropriate for my 6 year old to see Mommy lose it on a stranger in public), I realized it was true.  Kids aren’t born rude, some are more willful, yes, but not rude.  It’s up to us as parents to teach our children proper decorum, manners and patience.  I know had my kid acted in the way that these kids did she would have been sitting on a bench for a while at the very least.  We probably would have left.

Now don’t get me wrong, I am not under the illusion that I have perfectly behaved children, I don’t.  And I certainly don’t expect other peoples children to behave all the time, but it really irks me when a parent sees bad behavior and just shrugs it off.   I don’t really care if your kid is having a tantrum or meltdown, just try and deal with it.  Did you just see your kid hit, shove or kick another kid on the playground, then tell them to stop, or even better make them apologize and sit for a minute.  Just don’t sit there and ignore it. Hence my resolution.  I really think some of the parents out there need the smacks, maybe then they’d pay attention.

 

Leave a Reply

