Drowning in lemonade

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade”

“Every cloud has a silver lining”

“When God closes a door, he opens a window”

“It’s always darkest before the dawn”

There’s always someone who has it worse than you”

Things will get better, things will work out”

To these lovely quotes I say FUCK YOU.  No seriously, if I made lemonade with our life’s lemons, then we’d be drowning in the stuff. Sometimes that cloud isn’t just a rain cloud, but the start of a tornado.  Sometimes the doors and windows are all nailed shut.  Sometimes it’s dark because you have no power.  And sometimes things don’t get better, they just don’t.

I know people mean well when they say these things.  They see you are in a rough place and are trying to say something comforting.  There are times where it helps to hear tired cliche’s, but when you really can’t see the light at the end of the tunnel (yeah sorry, there’s another one) hearing these things sometimes gives you a “I want to stab you in the head with an icepick, but then I would go to jail and that would just add to my problems” feeling.

Why the cynicism you ask? Perhaps it’s the stress of the season, or the end of yet another stressful year (we’ve had a few doozies).

Or perhaps it’s because some punk decided to try and steal our car and wrecked the steering column and we now can’t start the car and now have to fork out our deductible and deposit for the rental car 11 days before Christmas and dealing with the cops and the insurance meant that my hubby had to miss half a day of work which we can’t afford so that’s almost $500 (pardon me while I have a minor panic attack at the actual number, that’s my food budget for the month) we’re out.

This was just the icing on the cake of a year full of this kind of stuff, preceded by about three years of this stuff or worse. So I’m pretty much lemonaded out at this point.

So be forewarned family and friends, you are free to cliche me if you feel the urge, I’d just make sure I’m not holding any sharp pointy objects when you do.  It’s for your own safety.

 

Leave a Reply

