*Warning* This post will probably offend you

Disclaimer: This is my blog and there for my opinions.  You don’t have to agree with what I write.  It may offend you or piss you off, but it’s MY opinion.  This is my forum for ranting, rather than commenting on numerous on-line forums.  If you don’t like what I’m saying don’t read it.  If you want to comment, feel free.  But please remember that I may have been respectful when commenting on your blog/post/thread and I would ask that I be given the same courtesy.

Today is December 1st! Only 24 more sleeps until Christmas.  According to people’s postings online though it’s 24 more sleeps till the big now oppressed holiday. Please.  (Okay side Facebook tangent here: No I will NOT re-post in support of whatever the hell.  Why? Because it is meaningless and pointless! Want to support those with cancer? Give to the Canadian Cancer Foundation or volunteer in a hospital.  Want to help abused women? Give your time or money or donations to a shelter.  Want to help special needs children? Lobby the government and get involved in the schools.  Okay tangent over)  I’m getting so sick and tired of the “They are making us stop Christmas” crap every time I go online.  It’s not just on Facebook either.  Everywhere I look online, on blogs, message boards, news sites, I’m inundated with the messages that non-Christians are ruining our holiday and we must keep Christ in Christmas

I have no problem with people celebrating the religious aspect of Christmas.  I know many people who do.  I also know quite a few people who celebrate the holiday for what it was before the Roman’s decided to highjack it and say that December 25th was when Jesus was born so they could force people to become Christians (see told you you would be offended).  Either way is good for me.  I’m also fine if people only want to make it about Santa. It’s your Christmas, do what you want.

But the belief that everywhere Christmas is being squashed, that schools and towns everywhere are no longer celebrating Christmas is bull.  Yes, I  know that there are some schools that only have “Winter Concerts” and there is nary a Santa in sight.  And, yes, there are a few towns and public building without decorations and such, but for the most part Christmas is alive and well.

There are a zillion ‘Christmas Specials’ on TV.  Every second flyer features Santa or the word Christmas, stores are playing Christmas music, cities are having Christmas or Santa Claus parades, malls are decorated with wreaths, trees and Santa’s villages, schools are having concerts.  Heck at my daughters school not only do they have a Christmas concert but they have a school wide lunch with Santa where all the kids get a present.

And for the whole “Happy Holidays” thing.  Has anyone ever seen the movie ‘Holiday Inn’ with Bing Crosby?  It came out in 1942.  It featured the song Happy Holiday’s.  People were saying Happy Holidays during the Christmas season before the movie came out and have been ever since.  Not everyone who says Happy Holidays means it in an “Oh I’m going to offend everybody by saying this instead of Merry Christmas” way.  Some people just find it shorter than saying “Merry Christmas and Happy New Year”

So in my neck of the woods Christmas is alive and well and not threatened at all.  And I’m betting that it is in your neck of the woods too.  Perhaps we should not only worry about not offending people this time of year, but also be a little less offended ourselves.

So to all my readers I wish you a Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, Merry Yule, a good Winter’s Solstice or a Happy whatever the heck you want to celebrate this time of year.

One response to “*Warning* This post will probably offend you

  1. I’m trying to remember… when did all this nonsense even start about the non-Christians trying to steal Christmas? I remember it being a common topic of conversation the past couple of Christmases, but before that….. Not so much. Or do I just have a selective memory for these things?

Leave a Reply

